History of Highfield House

Highfield is a Grade II* Listed Victorian mansion in Trowbridge, originally built in 1859 for the mill owner and philanthropist Sir William Roger Brown. Designed by architects Manners and Gill of Bath, the house was repeatedly updated and extended by Brown until his death in 1903. Brown, a generous benefactor to the town, also funded the Trowbridge Town Hall and Lady Brown’s Cottage Homes.
Below is an invitation from Sir Roger Brown to Mr and Mrs Kemp, another prominent clothier in town. The invite was to a garden party in 1889 where Princess Louise and the Marquis of Lorne would be in attendance.

The Building
The building is known for its grand Victorian style and original features. The exterior is constructed from Bath stone. It features a two-story design with decorative roof tiles, ornamental stonework, and a “pepperpot ogee dome” turret. A notable addition is the aisled conservatory. which has a triple-barrelled roof supported by a cast-iron arcade and includes a grotto made of vermiculated stone.
Inside, the home boasts four bedrooms and four reception rooms, along with an orangery. Architectural details include stained-glass windows, carved figures of Greek gods above ground-floor doors. There is also a hexagonal atrium with original mosaic tiling and a central stone staircase. The property also sits on just under 1.5 acres of grounds with a gated driveway.

Highfield House today
Today, part of the property is a semi-detached home, while another portion has been converted into the Fieldways Hotel and Health Club. The separation of the two properties came in 1930. The hotel retains many period features and offers a bar, restaurant, and function facilities. It also boasts a health club with a gym, spa, and swimming pool. The half of the property that remains as Highfield House is a private property that was on the market for £1.5 million in 2022.


